Alice Adams. After the War. New York: Knopf, 2000.

This novel, Adams’s last, continues the story of the Baird family begun in A Southern Exposure. The story is set in the period during and immediately after World War II in the fictional Piedmont town of Pinehill. In tracing a number of crises, large and small, Adams portrays a large and diverse cast of characters and gives special attention to the details of domestic life in North Carolina in the 1940s.

Check this title’s availability in the UNC Library Catalog.

Leave a Comment

Filed under 2000, 2000-2009, Adams, Alice, Novels Set in Fictional Places, Orange, Piedmont

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.