Category Archives: Maron, Margaret

Margaret Maron. Last Lessons of Summer. New York: Mysterious Press, 2003.

After her grandmother is murdered, Amy Steadman returns from New York to her family’s farm, located southeast of Raleigh, to help sort through her grandmother’s belongings. As Amy digs through her family history she tries to understand not just her grandmother’s mysterious death, but also the death of her mother, who committed suicide when Amy was three. The relationships among the members of this large family are at the heart of the story, especially as Amy begins to believe that her grandmother’s murderer may be a relative.

Check this title’s availability in the UNC Library Catalog.

Leave a Comment

Filed under 2000-2009, 2003, Coastal Plain, Maron, Margaret, Mystery

Margaret Maron. The Judge Deborah Knott Mysteries.

These popular mysteries feature Deborah Knott, a District Court Judge in fictional Colleton County, N.C., which is located “a few miles southeast of Raleigh.” In each novel Judge Knott is forced to step out from behind the bench to pursue a local mystery on her own. The setting is especially important in these books. Colleton County still has working tobacco farms, and yet is bordered by the sprawling, increasingly urban Research Triangle. Deborah Knott, her large family, and the residents of the county are often caught in the clash between North Carolina’s high-tech future and its traditional, agrarian past. The series stays fresh with the introduction of 21st century topics such terrorism and pesticide contamination, but many readers eagerly await each new novel in the series to read about Deborah’s relationship with her new husband Dwight and his son Cal.  As a bonus to longtime Maron fans, the two most recent books have included Sigrid Harald, the main character in Maron’s first mystery series.

Leave a Comment

Filed under Maron, Margaret, Mystery, Novels in Series, Novels Set in Fictional Places, Piedmont, Series