Gail Godwin. Evensong. New York: Ballantine, 1999.

Evensong, a sequel to the 1991 novel Father Melancholy’s Daughter, continues the story of Margaret Gower, an Episcopal rector in High Balsam, N.C., a fictional community in the Blue Ridge Mountains, not far from Mountain City, based on Asheville, where Godwin grew up. Set over a four-week period in 1999, Evensong chronicles a difficult time in Gower’s life as she questions both her marriage and her faith.

Check this title’s availability in the UNC Library Catalog.

Leave a Comment

Filed under 1990-1999, 1999, Buncombe, Godwin, Gail, Mountains, Novels Set in Fictional Places

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.