Tag Archives: Quakers

Michael Phillips. Miss Katie’s Rosewood. Minneapolis, MN: Bethany House, 2007.

In Miss Katie’s Rosewood, the fourth and final book in the Carolina Cousins series, it is 1870 and the main characters Katie and Mayme are now young women. At the urging of the older generation of the Daniels family, the cousins and best friends agree to travel to Philadelphia to visit a women’s college and explore the possibilities of higher education. They also hope to visit with their respective beaus, who have both traveled to Pennsylvania. On the train ride north, however, the cars are segregated by race, the girls are separated, and Mayme is kidnapped. Meanwhile, back in fictional Shenandoah County, Rosewood is threatened by the Ku Klux Klan. The girls weather their troubles with the help of family, friends, and their Christian faith.

Check this title’s availability in the UNC-Chapel Hill Library catalog.

Leave a Comment

Filed under 2000-2009, 2007, Historical, Novels in Series, Novels Set in Fictional Places, Phillips, Michael, Religious/Inspirational, Romance/Relationship

William Laurie Hill. The Master of the Red Buck and the Bay Doe. Charlotte, NC: Stone Publishing Co., 1913.

There is a lot going on in this novel set in North Carolina in the last years of the Revolutionary War. One plot line follows David Fanning as he leads Tory raiders in Chatham County. The second narrative thread concerns the lovely Polly Rutherford Scurlock who is sent from Chatham County to the safer venue of Guilford County, where she finds multiple suitors. The book weaves many historic events and figures into its plot.

Check this title’s availability and access an online copy through the UNC-Chapel Hill Library Catalog.

Leave a Comment

Filed under 1910-1919, 1913, Chatham, Guilford, Hill, William Laurie, Historical, Novels to Read Online, Piedmont, Romance/Relationship

Diana Gabaldon. A Breath of Snow and Ashes. New York: Delacorte Press, 2005.

In the early 1770s, North Carolina’s Royal Governor Josiah Martin asks Jamie Fraser to help defend the colony against rebellion. Jamie feels conflicted, not only between his oath to the King and his belief in freedom, but also because his time-traveling wife, daughter, and son-in-law have told him that war is coming and will end in American independence. As in several others of the Outlander series (this is the sixth), his relatives provide him with personal as well as political foreknowledge, and Jamie hopes that he can prevent tragic events that will be reported in a 1776 Wilmington newspaper.

Check this title’s availability in the UNC Library Catalog.

Leave a Comment

Filed under 2000-2009, 2005, Gabaldon, Diana, Historical, Mountains, Novels in Series, Novels Set in Fictional Places, Romance/Relationship, Science Fiction/Fantasy

Diana Gabaldon. The Outlander Series.

These novels in the popular Outlander series picks up the story of 20th-century time-traveler Claire Randall and her 18th-century Scottish husband Jamie Fraser as they continue their adventures in the American colonies. Largely set in the colony of North Carolina in the 1760s and 1770s, Claire and Jamie must navigate through the political tensions leading up to the American Revolution, and the war itself, with the added twist that they know the outcome of the coming war. Rich in historical description, humor, and romance, these books add four more tales to the saga of the Frasers.

1 Comment

Filed under Gabaldon, Diana, Historical, Novels in Series, Series

Jimmy Carter. The Hornet’s Nest: A Novel of the Revolutionary War. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2003.

Former President Jimmy Carter’s first novel (and the first novel to be published by an ex-President) follows Ethan Pratt and his family through the Southern colonies during the American Revolution. When things turn bad in Georgia, Pratt migrates to North Carolina in search of cheap land and opportunity. Carter’s thorough research is evident in his descriptions of the Regulator movement in Orange County and the battle of King’s Mountain.

Check this title’s availability in the UNC Library Catalog.

Leave a Comment

Filed under 2000-2009, 2003, Carter, Jimmy, Historical, Mountains, Orange, Piedmont