Stone Walls

This ca. 1888 image shows one of the many stiles used to cross over the stone walls surrounding campus. The stone walls were constructed under the direction of Professor Elisha Mitchell in 1838 in an effort to enclose the campus and replace the rail fences currently in place. These walls were constructed in the New England fashion with the use of mortar and served the dual purpose of preventing live stock from grazing on campus grounds and to enhance the picturesque campus setting. The construction of the stone walls surrounding campus would continue until the 1850’s